what to do when you fail to fend off the beltway flu (5 natural alternatives to pepto bismol)

lemonI feel confident about my awareness and alertness surrounding the dreaded DMV winter flu. When someone is else is sick I strategically avoid physical contact. I wash my hands. I sanitize the counter tops. I increase fruits and vegetables. I’ve managed to go the last EIGHT years without a flu shot and only got sick once after very long week working in an office on a college campus with a co-worker so ill I periodically peeked my head in to say, “Just makin’ sure you’re still alive in there!” Ha. Ha. (No but seriously, ARE YOU OK?)

And then last Monday, IT HAPPENED. The stomach bug took me down, and got me GOOD. Desperate to get up and about after taking a 24-hour life hiatus, I started researching some of the best natural remedies and found this great flu-fighting guidebook (which I selected out of a handful of others for its depth AND brevity). When I woke up I drank alkaline water (ph level 9.5)  before anything else to ensure I was getting the maximum hydration with the least amount of liquid (you know when you’re so sick even WATER is a troublemaker first thing in the morning). Puree Juice’s Daily Green was the perfect afternoon pineapple supplement (and so refreshing!—nothing like a summery, cold pressed juice blend when you’re feeling down in the winter dumps), and a homemade lemon-ginger tea rounded out my natural remedy routine right before bed.

I felt so much better after each superfood-fueled hydration “station” and the relief wasn’t short term as I’ve experienced when taking over-the-counter medication. Instead of temporarily suppressing symptoms, these remedies actually put me one permanent step closer to being fully better. What are some of your natural flu-fighters? We wanna know!

ps. I’ve heard amazing things about the health benefits of bone broth and have also heard DC’s newest clean eating spot, Halsa, has got it!

Leave a Reply

