winter combat – salt caves for first timers

salt

Today was a momentous occasion; I woke up feeling refreshed and energized – which has been rare for me as of late! With the drastic changes in temperature, as well as the expected changing of seasons, I have been extremely low on energy and seemingly in a constant battle with getting sick. I know I am not alone on these wintery symptoms since many customers have been coming in who have been experiencing the very same things. So what is the fix? Yes, getting your veggies into your diet is critical when your immune system is more susceptible. And yes, ginger and cayenne can help you fight your cold. But I was looking for something that could help heal my body, aside from nutrition.

So what to do? Well, I have wanted to go to the Bethesda Salt Caves for a while now, and when I got off of work yesterday, it felt like the right time to go try it out. When I first walked in, I was immediately relaxed. The beautiful aroma resonating from the handmade soaps, as well as the dim-lit entrance put me into an immediate trance. Since I had never been there before, I was asking a million questions and clearly needed a little handholding throughout the whole process, so it was a good thing that the staff there is so nice and eager to help. I was guided into the salt cave session room, which had even dimmer lighting than the entrance. I removed my shoes before entering since the floor of the room is covered in sea salt. I chose an open zero gravity chair, grabbed a blanket, and reclined back while I waited for the rest of the group to come in. Even just sitting there while waiting, I felt a massive amount of stress escape from my shoulders.

Finally, it was time for our session to begin and the nice man from the front turned down the lights completely, and turned on the salt blower. I was a little hesitant about the salt blower, thinking it would be blowing table salt out onto me, but alas it did not. The salt must be so miniscule that it is blown out into the air almost as if it just the essence of the salt. By breathing in the salt air, and having it touch your skin, it gets absorbed into your body and claims to heal a plethora of problems. Apparently it aids in the treatment of ailments such as arthritis, allergies, asthma, bronchitis, depression, migraines, sleep disorder, snoring, stress, and countless skin problems.

I know, I know, it sounds a little hokey, but now I totally buy into it. The peaceful sounds, the dim lighting, and the forced isolation for 45 minutes is healing in of itself, but when I left my session, I truly felt like I could breathe more clearly. I felt a calm throughout me that I have not felt in a very long time. And most importantly for me, I slept that night so soundly and woke up feeling truly refreshed. So yeah, maybe salt caves are not going to solve all of my problems. BUT, I do have to say, the next time I’m feeling exhausted, like I need a break from the stressors in my life, or like I am really trying to fight off a cold, I know exactly where I’ll be headed.

One thought on “winter combat – salt caves for first timers

Leave a Reply

